Awards

The Francis B. Francois Award is an annual Award for Innovation, presented to one AASHTO member State, enabling that state to fund a $10,000 graduate fellowship at a state university of the winner’s choice. Innovation is defined as something worthwhile that establishes, increases, or enhances value to the public.

Any AASHTO member State is eligible to enter the competition for the Award. Each State is limited to only one award application submittal per award cycle. Entries will be judged on the innovation, sharing, approach, implementation of the innovation, and results.

The 2013 Francis B. Francois Award winner was Idaho Transportation Department for its Winter Performance Measuring through Road Weather Information Sites (RWIS) initiative.

The 2013 winner of the Performance Excellence Award was Maryland’s SafeZones Program, Maryland State Highway Administration.

Here are the applications and criteria for each of the awards.

SCOPM Committee Meeting
October 19, 2013
AASHTO Annual Meeting

Presentations:

AASHTO SCOPM-21 Notice of Proposed Rule-Making Checklist (CMAQ)

SCOPM Committee Meeting
September 4, 2013
Washington, DC

Past Meeting Notes and Presentations

Target Setting workshop notes, slides and handouts:

http://sites.spypondpartners.com/targetsetting/workshop/

AASHTO Spring Meeting Providence, RI

Handouts

National Performance Measures Communications Workshop

AASHTO-SCOPM-Comm-Flyer (1).pdf

National Performance Measures Target Setting

AASHTO-SCOPM-TS-Flyer (2).pdf

ACTION: AASHTO Recommendations on MAP-21 Performance Measure Target Setting

A subgroup of the SCOPM Task Force, headed by Daniela Bremmer, put together the attached findings on performance measure target setting related to MAP-21. Development of this document had a very quick turnaround due to schedule deadlines at U.S. DOT. The findings are available below.

SCOPM Task Force Findings on Performance Measure Target-Setting FINAL v2 (3-25-2013).pdf

SCOPM Committee Meeting at the 2012 Annual Meeting Presentations

National Level Performance Measures

The SCOPM Task Force Findings on National-Level Performance Measures report was prepared by the SCOPM Task Force on Performance Measure Development, Coordination and Reporting. The task force was established to develop a limited number of national performance measures and help prepare AASHTO members to meet new Federal performance management requirements. The task force, chaired by Paul Degges, Tennessee DOT, includes a range of technical and policy experts representing urban, rural, large and small States. The report is the culmination of an intense and concentrated effort by SCOPM, with the cooperation of many other AASHTO committees, to provide to FHWA recommendations on an appropriate and credible set of performance measures that State DOTs can implement given the requirements in MAP-21. The information in this report was made possible by the more than 10 years of research and development of performance measures.

Download the final report: SCOPM Task Force Findings on National Level Measures

Communicating Transportation Performance

Deb Miller, Cambridge Systematics, presented the results of a project funded by FHWA on communicating transportation performance.

Download the presentation: FHWA Performance Report by Deb Miller of Cambridge Systematics

The World of Transportation Performance Measurement at Your Fingertips!

In partnership with the Midwest Transportation Knowledge Network, we have produced an on-line pathfinder that synthesizes performance metrics for State DOTs. This site, hosted at http://members.mtkn.org/measures, uses public data and accountability reports to tabulate information. This data has been complied into syntheses to make it easier to see what others are doing and to learn from each other.

News from the
AASHTO Journal


Performance Measurement

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation last week released a report on the performance of the state transportation system. The report represents the first compilation of WisDOT's new MAPSS Performance Dashboard, which provides a data-driven analysis to show performance trends for 23 separate measures. View the full story in the February 10 AASHTO Journal

The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation's efforts to modernize and improve the way it does business – ensuring the efficient use of taxpayer dollars – are detailed on a new webpage announced last week by Transportation Secretary Barry Schoch. View the full story in the February 10 AASHTO Journal

Leadership

Chairman: Ananth Prasad, Florida
Vice Chairman: David Nichols, Missouri
Secretary: Jeff Paniati, FHWA
AASHTO Staff Liaison: Janet Oakley/Matt Hardy

Charter

The Standing Committee on Performance Management is dedicated to provide State DOTs the expertise and resources to support performance based management and to create a results-driven environment to maximize the performance of both transportation systems and organizations.

The committee shall focus on:

Organizational Management: As defined in the Charge Statement of the Subcommittee On Organizational Management

Systems Performance: The Committee will examine how organizations focus on strategic directions to deliver the transportation program to the public. The Committee will examine how transportation organizations link these strategies with work systems and key processes and align resources to improve project delivery, performance in safety/congestion/freight movement/assets and other areas; and accountability and results. The Committee will assess the use of measurement and assessment to facilitate communication, and aid in the development of comparative information about organizational and systems performance in established and emerging areas;

Federal Policy, Regulations and Programs: The Committee will explore national and international trends, successful practices, and research in organizational and system performance management. The Committee will support the Board of Directors in influencing the development of federal policy, programs, regulations, and guidance. The Committee will support both the States and the Federal government in decision support and prioritization.
Membership on this Committee shall consist of the Chief Executive Officer of each Member Department, or his or her designee. Each Member Department shall be entitled to one voting member, but Member Departments may have two additional non-voting members. The President shall appoint a Chair, Vice-Chair and Secretary.

The Committee shall work cooperatively with the other standing committees of the Association. To facilitate this cooperation, the Chair of each of the other standing committees shall designate a person to serve on the Standing Committee on Performance Management in a liaison capacity.

Committee Name: Standing Committee on Performance Management
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Patterson, Mike mpatterson@odot.org Oklahoma Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Xenophontos, Christos Savvas christos.xenophontos@dot.ri.gov Rhode Island Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Stephanos, Peter J. peter.stephanos@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Secretary None
Hong, Bryan bhong@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison None
Brown, Lloyd lbrown@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison None
Gee, King W kgee@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison None
Hardy, Matthew mhardy@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Austin, Linnea B austinl@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Assistant Non-Voting
Parfitt, Jenniffer jenniffer.parfitt@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Assistant None
Monroe, Sharon Sharon.Monroe@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Member Assistant None
Bracanovich, Marie bracanovmm@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Assistant None
Carter, Jennifer jennifer.c.carter@tn.gov Tennessee Department of Transportation Member Assistant None
Davis, Brian C. davisb@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Austin, Edward N austine@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Arkle, Don T. arkled@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Baldwin, Ronald L. baldwinr@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Healy, Roger roger.healy@alaska.gov Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities Member Voting
Kies, Michael mkies@azdot.gov Arizona Department of Transportation Member Voting
Thornton, Kevin Kevin.Thornton@arkansashighways.com Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department Member Non-Voting
Jones, Jessie Jessie.Jones@arkansashighways.com Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department Member Non-Voting
Bennett, Scott E. scott.bennett@arkansashighways.com Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department Member Voting
Hall, Ralph J. Ralph.Hall@arkansashighways.com Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department Member Non-Voting
Tudor, Lorie Lorie.Tudor@arkansashighways.com Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department Member Non-Voting
Briseno, Coco Coco.Briseno@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Falsetti, Rachel Rachel_Falsetti@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Voting
Giovinazzi, Giles Francis giles.giovinazzi@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Voting
Johnson, William George will.johnson@state.co.us Colorado Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Perkins-Smith, Debra Debra.Perkins-Smith@dot.state.co.us Colorado Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kissane, Colleen A. colleen.kissane@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Voting
Maziarz, Thomas J. Thomas.Maziarz@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Voting
Calcaterra, Peter J peter.calcaterra@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Hastings, Shante Adrianna shante.hastings@state.de.us Delaware Department of Transportation Member Voting
Dey, Soumya S. soumya.dey@dc.gov District of Columbia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Dock, Stephanie stephanie.dock@dc.gov District of Columbia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Lee, David david.lee@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Alexander, Angela T aalexander@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tatsuguchi, Ken ken.tatsuguchi@hawaii.gov Hawaii Department of Transportation Member Voting
Stokes, L. Scott scott.stokes@itd.idaho.gov Idaho Transportation Department Member Non-Voting
Tolman, David dave.tolman@itd.idaho.gov Idaho Transportation Department Member Non-Voting
Shea, Brian Brian.Shea@itd.idaho.gov Idaho Transportation Department Member Non-Voting
Ostdick, Holly A holly.ostdick@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Voting
Carmitchel, Bruce bruce.carmitchel@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Ratliff, Mark A. mratliff@indot.in.gov Indiana Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Selmer, John john.selmer@dot.iowa.gov Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Haubrich, Matthew matthew.haubrich@dot.iowa.gov Iowa Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Majors, Dana danam@ksdot.org Kansas Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Moore, John William johnw.moore@ky.gov Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Member Non-Voting
Siwula, Jason jason.siwula@ky.gov Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Member Voting
Penn, Geralyn gerrie.penn@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Non-Voting
Lester, Wade Wade.Lester@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Non-Voting
Taylor, Joyce No joyce.taylor@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Voting
Casey, Jerome Alfred jerry.casey@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Fletcher, Rhonda Rhonda.Fletcher@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Haley, Mike mhaley@mdot.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Mahapatra, Subrat smahapatra@sha.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Murphy, Heather hmurphy@mdot.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Katsikides, Nicole Jennifer nkatsikides@sha.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Woo, Richard Y. rwoo@sha.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
May, Rob rob.f.may@state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Reeder, Virginia Smith virginia.reeder@state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Travelbee, Kelly travelbeek@michigan.gov Michigan Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Wieferich, Bradley C. wieferichb@michigan.gov Michigan Department of Transportation Member Voting
Steudle, Kirk T. steudlek@michigan.gov Michigan Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Henkel, Timothy A. tim.henkel@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Aleithawe, Imad A aaleithawe@mdot.state.ms.us Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Williams, III, James A. jwilliams@mdot.state.ms.us Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Voting
Watkins, Machelle machelle.watkins@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Member Voting
Miller, Karen S Karen.Miller@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Wunderlich, Jay jay.wunderlich@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Zanto, Lynn lzanto@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Skinner, James jskinner@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Johnson, Paul paujohnson@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Tooley, Mike mitooley@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Jamshidi, Mostafa Moe.Jamshidi@nebraska.gov Nebraska Department of Roads Member Voting
Huff, Ryan Robert ryan.huff@nebraska.gov Nebraska Department of Roads Member Non-Voting
Rosenberg, Sondra E srosenberg@dot.state.nv.us Nevada Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Cass, William J. bcass@dot.state.nh.us New Hampshire Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Buczynski, Frances FBuczynski@dot.state.nh.us New Hampshire Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kuhn, David A david.kuhn@dot.nj.gov New Jersey Department of Transportation Member Voting
Rosen, Sandra Le sandralee.rosen@state.nm.us New Mexico Department of Transportation Member Voting
Haas, Tamara P tamarap.haas@state.nm.us New Mexico Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
DAngelo, Daniel ddangelo@dot.state.ny.us New York State Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Weiskopf, Lynn lynn.weiskopf@dot.ny.gov New York State Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Sechrist, Roderic rsechrist@dot.state.ny.us New York State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Salwei, Steve ssalwei@nd.gov North Dakota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Schmidt, Norlyn Dean nschmidt@nd.gov North Dakota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Zainhofsky, Scott D. szainhofsky@nd.gov North Dakota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Murphy, Greg Greg.Murphy@dot.state.oh.us Ohio Department of Transportation Member Voting
Gatz, Tim J. tgatz@odot.org Oklahoma Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Shell, Casey cshell@odot.org Oklahoma Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Franklin, Kenneth ken.franklin@odot.state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Kase, Philip Philip.J.KASE@odot.state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Voting
Prestash, Thomas A. tprestash@pa.gov Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Christie, R. Scott rchristie@pa.gov Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Member Voting
Fisette, Lori Ann lori.fisette@dot.ri.gov Rhode Island Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Patel, Dipak M. pateldm@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Gantt, Kevin L ganttkl@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Manning, Robert Lee ManningRL@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member None
Behm, Michael michael.behm@state.sd.us South Dakota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Bergquist, Darin darin.bergquist@state.sd.us South Dakota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Huft, David L. dave.huft@state.sd.us South Dakota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Orsbon, Ben ben.orsbon@state.sd.us South Dakota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Degges, Paul Paul.Degges@tn.gov Tennessee Department of Transportation Member Voting
Marquardt, Kent Steven kent.marquardt@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Norman, Tonia L. tonia.norman@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Lee, Nathan nlee@utah.gov Utah Department of Transportation Member None
Marshall, P.E., Shane smarshall@utah.gov Utah Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tetreault, Richard richard.tetreault@vermont.gov Vermont Agency of Transportation Member Voting
Scribner, Susan E. Sue.Scribner@vermont.gov Vermont Agency of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Maxwell, Jo Anne joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Wells, Wanda wanda.wells@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Moore, Garrett W garrett.moore@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Voigt, Christopher christopher.voigt@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Busher, Reta reta.busher@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Styles, Jay Jay.Styles@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Bremmer, Daniela bremmed@wsdot.wa.gov Washington State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mattox, Paul A. Paul.A.Mattox@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Murphy, Marvin G. Marvin.G.Murphy@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Allen, Darrell W. Darrell.W.Allen@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Switzer, Aileen aileen.switzer@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Berg, Michael J. michael.berg@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Richter, Lori A lori.richter@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Voting
Farrar, Janet Janet.Farrar@wyo.gov Wyoming Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kidner, Martin martin.kidner@wyo.gov Wyoming Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Fredrick, Gregg gregg.fredrick@wyo.gov Wyoming Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Lemer, Andrew C. alemer@nas.edu Transportation Research Board Associate Member Non-Voting
Yew, Connie connie.yew@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Ex Officio None
Whitson, Francine Sh fswhitson@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Ex Officio None
Rindlisbacher, Blake blake.rindlisbacher@itd.idaho.gov Idaho Transportation Department Friend None
Kurgan, Kate kkurgan@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Other None
Boyden, Sarah sarah.boyden@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Other None
Belden, Deanna K deanna.belden@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Other None