Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Home|Legal|Privacy Policy|Copyright


The Francis B. Francois Award is an annual Award for Innovation, presented to one AASHTO member State, enabling that state to fund a $10,000 graduate fellowship at a state university of the winner’s choice. Innovation is defined as something worthwhile that establishes, increases, or enhances value to the public.

Any AASHTO member State is eligible to enter the competition for the Award. Each State is limited to only one award application submittal per award cycle. Entries will be judged on the innovation, sharing, approach, implementation of the innovation, and results.

The 2013 Francis B. Francois Award winner was Idaho Transportation Department for its Winter Performance Measuring through Road Weather Information Sites (RWIS) initiative.

The 2013 winner of the Performance Excellence Award was Maryland’s SafeZones Program, Maryland State Highway Administration.

Here are the applications and criteria for each of the awards.

SCOPM Committee Meeting
October 19, 2013
AASHTO Annual Meeting


AASHTO SCOPM-21 Notice of Proposed Rule-Making Checklist (CMAQ)

SCOPM Committee Meeting
September 4, 2013
Washington, DC

Past Meeting Notes and Presentations

Target Setting workshop notes, slides and handouts:

AASHTO Spring Meeting Providence, RI


National Performance Measures Communications Workshop

AASHTO-SCOPM-Comm-Flyer (1).pdf

National Performance Measures Target Setting

AASHTO-SCOPM-TS-Flyer (2).pdf

ACTION: AASHTO Recommendations on MAP-21 Performance Measure Target Setting

A subgroup of the SCOPM Task Force, headed by Daniela Bremmer, put together the attached findings on performance measure target setting related to MAP-21. Development of this document had a very quick turnaround due to schedule deadlines at U.S. DOT. The findings are available below.

SCOPM Task Force Findings on Performance Measure Target-Setting FINAL v2 (3-25-2013).pdf

SCOPM Committee Meeting at the 2012 Annual Meeting Presentations

National Level Performance Measures

The SCOPM Task Force Findings on National-Level Performance Measures report was prepared by the SCOPM Task Force on Performance Measure Development, Coordination and Reporting. The task force was established to develop a limited number of national performance measures and help prepare AASHTO members to meet new Federal performance management requirements. The task force, chaired by Paul Degges, Tennessee DOT, includes a range of technical and policy experts representing urban, rural, large and small States. The report is the culmination of an intense and concentrated effort by SCOPM, with the cooperation of many other AASHTO committees, to provide to FHWA recommendations on an appropriate and credible set of performance measures that State DOTs can implement given the requirements in MAP-21. The information in this report was made possible by the more than 10 years of research and development of performance measures.

Download the final report: SCOPM Task Force Findings on National Level Measures

Communicating Transportation Performance

Deb Miller, Cambridge Systematics, presented the results of a project funded by FHWA on communicating transportation performance.

Download the presentation: FHWA Performance Report by Deb Miller of Cambridge Systematics

The World of Transportation Performance Measurement at Your Fingertips!

In partnership with the Midwest Transportation Knowledge Network, we have produced an on-line pathfinder that synthesizes performance metrics for State DOTs. This site, hosted at, uses public data and accountability reports to tabulate information. This data has been complied into syntheses to make it easier to see what others are doing and to learn from each other.

News from the
AASHTO Journal

Performance Measurement

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation last week released a report on the performance of the state transportation system. The report represents the first compilation of WisDOT's new MAPSS Performance Dashboard, which provides a data-driven analysis to show performance trends for 23 separate measures. View the full story in the February 10 AASHTO Journal

The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation's efforts to modernize and improve the way it does business – ensuring the efficient use of taxpayer dollars – are detailed on a new webpage announced last week by Transportation Secretary Barry Schoch. View the full story in the February 10 AASHTO Journal


Chairman: Ananth Prasad, Florida
Vice Chairman: David Nichols, Missouri
Secretary: Jeff Paniati, FHWA
AASHTO Staff Liaison: Janet Oakley/Matt Hardy


The Standing Committee on Performance Management is dedicated to provide State DOTs the expertise and resources to support performance based management and to create a results-driven environment to maximize the performance of both transportation systems and organizations.

The committee shall focus on:

Organizational Management: As defined in the Charge Statement of the Subcommittee On Organizational Management

Systems Performance: The Committee will examine how organizations focus on strategic directions to deliver the transportation program to the public. The Committee will examine how transportation organizations link these strategies with work systems and key processes and align resources to improve project delivery, performance in safety/congestion/freight movement/assets and other areas; and accountability and results. The Committee will assess the use of measurement and assessment to facilitate communication, and aid in the development of comparative information about organizational and systems performance in established and emerging areas;

Federal Policy, Regulations and Programs: The Committee will explore national and international trends, successful practices, and research in organizational and system performance management. The Committee will support the Board of Directors in influencing the development of federal policy, programs, regulations, and guidance. The Committee will support both the States and the Federal government in decision support and prioritization.
Membership on this Committee shall consist of the Chief Executive Officer of each Member Department, or his or her designee. Each Member Department shall be entitled to one voting member, but Member Departments may have two additional non-voting members. The President shall appoint a Chair, Vice-Chair and Secretary.

The Committee shall work cooperatively with the other standing committees of the Association. To facilitate this cooperation, the Chair of each of the other standing committees shall designate a person to serve on the Standing Committee on Performance Management in a liaison capacity.